Why I don’t read series

image
Yes. That’s true. I don’t usually read series and to be more specific I have read only two in my whole life. You may now wonder which ones I have read, well, two years ago I read the Uglies series but I didn’t finish them. I got bored and stopped in the middle of the third book. Now, after all this time I finally finished the Hunger Games. No, I have not read the Harry Potter series!!! Are you still with me or have you fainted? Don’t kill me, I mean to do so in the near future.
I don’t really like series. Let me tell you why.
First of all, the author in the most cases makes his main character end up being heroic. What I mean is this: at first the protagonist has faults and knows them very well, such as selfishness and pride, but as the story proceeds and it must come to an end, the main character ends up having those faults vanished like he didn’t have them before Β and has become a better person. The pattern is the same and is repeated over and over again, that becomes very annoying. Same characters, same love triangles and even same themes.
But, most of all what really annoys me is the fact that the end is disappointing and it gets boring as you keep reading. Take for example the Hunger Games, the first two books were amazing but the Mockingjay was not so good. At all. This thing, of the disappointing end, really gets on my nerves. Or sometimes, just because authors don’t know what else to write they make their characters do things that they normally wouldn’t do, just because they need to make the story going. Or else making some unnecessary twists.

But I would be glad to prove me wrong. Tell me what’s your opinion and why you prefer series. If you want, please suggest me some good series that I should read.

30 thoughts on “Why I don’t read series

  1. Elle, for Life says:

    I, too, am a serial non-series reader and I read The Hunger Games series. It moved quickly and even thought he grammar wasn’t exactly on point, it gave the whole series a roughness that I appreciated. However, I feel you on the unremarkable ending.

    If you haven’t tackled it yet, the Ender’s Game series is worthwhile. I still have yet to encounter a series of books that can tackle on the extra dimension of anti-gravity. And while the protagonist has characteristics as one might expect, as does the antagonist, there’s a fine line of morality being walked by all parties.

    I’d go on further, but I’m sure I was the last to read Ender’s Game so I’m likely describing to you a series you’ve already read. That’s the only one, in adulthood, I’ve ever favored.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thebookishuniverse says:

      Unfortunately, I haven’t read it. As I said, I have only read two series including the Hunger Games.
      But the Ender ‘ s Game seems so interesting, and I’m curious to make a little research about it. But if you say that you really liked it, then it must be really good.
      Thank you so much for your suggestion:)

      Liked by 1 person

  2. grassandsun says:

    Im not a big series fan myself. But recently I read (and im still reading) the lunar chronicles serie.
    This seire is different from everything I ever read. Each book focus on a different main character but all the stories are connected someway. Its also fairytale retelling but in the future.

    If you want something different you should give it a try

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Josie Knight says:

    To be honest, I love book series! There are some series that start going downhill as the book progress or have too many book that it just drags, but I do know that there are some book series out there that are just awesome. Like teh book series I just finished reading – Heroes of Olympus by Rick Riordan, it was amazing. Not predictable or slow, amazing characters – I have a post up reviewing it if you’d like to check it out! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. hermionefowl says:

    I completely understand what you mean! Actually, I find it happens with trilogies and dystopia more than anything else. Harry Potter you have to read ASAP. Sorry, I don’t think I can forgive you for that one πŸ˜› Maybe try having breaks in between the books? Not too long, but enough that you aren’t constantly comparing it to the great first book. That’s what I try and do πŸ™‚
    Thanks for visiting Addlepates and Book Nerds!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. radiantreads says:

    I loved to binge read series for a while, but after you’ve read a couple of them I completely agree with you – everything is the same! Same themes, same love-triangles, same characters, same heroic adventures. It gets really boring. And I also have to agree with HermioneFowl: HARRY POTTER! You really should read it – it’s a fantastic series. Another one that I really enjoyed was the Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson. Very different! It’s a fantasy series and the writing is great, the characters are even better and the world building is phenomenal!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. cuciereads says:

    I fainted just a little bit when you said you hadn’t read the Harry Potter series. At the same time you do have some very good points. I think most people love the Harry Potter because they grew up with it (myself included). I do see major flaws in it now, but it’s like the flaws of someone you love… you just don’t care.

    The reason why I love series is because I want to keep living in the same world and hang out with the same characters, but feel like re-reading isn’t as fun. Although, if I really like the ending of the first book in a series, I stop there. In fear of what might happen to ruin the whole thing in the next books. Such as in the Graceling series and the Proxy series.

    Cucie @ Cucie reads

    Like

    • thebookishuniverse says:

      Honestly I’m so in love with your comment haha.
      Yeah you are right, that’s why I want to read Harry Potter, because it reminds me of my childhood and how much I loved and still love the characters. Ohh you are so right, about the flaws and I’m so happy tha you feel this way. I also too.
      Thank you for this lovely comment xx

      Like

  7. A. P. Bullard says:

    I also try to stay away from series books. I have been tricked one or two times, and that was decidedly unpleasant. The endings *are* often disappointing, and I don’t like having to wait for a long time to find out what happens next. I’m assuming this is a big part of the draw towards fan-fic.
    I also don’t like not really having the freedom to start something new. Let’s say I finish the 1st book, and want to read something else before going to the 2nd book. I may forget important details, or just not really be in the “mood” of the series anymore. I hate being apathetic about something I am reading, and that would most certainly be an issue.

    (P.S. I dislike Harry Potter. I know, I know!)

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Killian says:

    To be honest I don’t read much YA so maybe those faults you mentioned are present in that, but in a lot of the series I’ve read the problems you mentioned aren’t really there. Take, for example, A Song Of Ice And Fire by George R.R. Martin. The entire series basically takes every fantasy clichΓ© and rips it to shreds. It shows us how stupid the ‘noble’, ‘heroic’ protagonists are and I don’t think anyone has ever called it predictable. I don’t know whether you read fantasy (loads of people refuse to read it because it’s a ‘lesser’ genre) but ASOIAF is a pretty amazing series. To be honest if I was to list as many great series as I could the list would never end. Anyway, some people just can’t read series but I really think that by refusing to read them you’re missing out on loads of great books. It’s the same as refusing reading a certain genre or a certain author, you should try and read a couple more and if it doesn’t work out then so be it. But to be honest I don’t think you can really judge all series by two ones (I haven’t read the Uglies series but I’ve heard it gets really bad and I hate The Hunger Games so in my eyes neither of those really represent series really well). Anyway, interesting post and it seem to have started an interesting debate.

    Killian

    Liked by 1 person

  9. K. D. Dowdall says:

    I normally do not read series, except “Outlander” although I watch series, like “Outlander”, “The Tudors, “The Sons of Liberty” and so on. I prefer stand alone novels. However, murder mystery authors have one character that begins a new story with each book, like Agatha Christie, “Murder on the Orient Express”. So, I guess I am in the middle somewhere regarding series.

    Like

  10. thundertumbler says:

    I love book series, but I do agree with the points you made here. I have stopped reading some series here and there, because of these exact reason. I hate how the protagonist usually knows nothing about their abilities/past/strength/etc, but at the end of the series they’ve defeated the antagonist who was more powerful/knowledgeable/skilled/etc.

    I do enjoy series, however, because when a book is done well, getting to know these characters and the world they’re in is just one of the best things about books. When I read non-series books, I feel so sad by the end of it because that’s it, there’s no more. When I absolutely love the characters, I want to continue their tale for as long as possible.
    Two books that made me feel that way I want to recommend to you; The Lunar Chronicles and The Percy Jackson Series. I love them both, they are so amazing!

    Like

  11. nikihawkes says:

    First of all, I totally agree with your assessment of Hunger Games – Mockingjay was a huge disappointment for me. Second of all, I agree there is almost always a similar type of story arc – especially in YA books that can get a bit boring after a while. The thing is, I have noticed that in standalone books as well, it just happens over a shorter time span. I keep reading because for every 10 formulatic YAs, there is one that is bursting with originality and makes them worth the effort. This was a really interesting post, and I honestly don’t think you should change your reading habits – life’s too short to read books or series you’re not interested in. πŸ™‚

    Like

  12. Stephanie Urso says:

    I still have not read the last book in the Divergent series. I have heard it’s worse than Mockingly and I couldn’t handle that much disappointment.

    George R R Martins series A song of Ice and Fire is seriously one of the best I’ve ever read. The the twists and turns are no where close to predictable. The characters and the world he has built is rich and vivid. I would 100% recommend them if you were looking to get into a more sophisticated and less predictable type of series.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

