Psycho Movie

imageYesterday late at night, I couldn’t sleep and decided to watch a movie. I was laying in my bed, with the lights closed and for some reason I chose to see Psycho. It’s a movie I’ve heard so much things about -especially the shower scene- but haven’t watched. So, I thought why not? Well, it was a bad choice to have the lights off and even a worse choice to see it at night. Omg! I’m still shocked and honestly I didn’t slept well either.
I don’t think I need to explain much about Psycho as it is one of the most famous movies ever made. Everyone who loves thriller must have seen the movie. I dare say that Psycho has one of the best twists in thriller movie history. It’s such a pure film that cannot be unappreciated.
Psycho just became my favourite movie of all time, after Dead Poets Society. What can I say and from where should I begin? Honestly, at first I wasn’t too excited about how the story was going, until Marion arrived at the Bates Motel. The movie kept me in agony until the very end and I found the last scene of the movie, the most haunting one. I don’t know, maybe it’s Perkins twisted look, or the words of the mother that make it so terrifying. Definitely my favourite scene of the entire film.

Hitchcock made miracles!
1. Hitchcock shot the entire film with a 50mm lens because that most closely resembled human vision, which played into the theme of voyeurism.
2. When Norman pushes the car into the swamp, it stops sinking for a minute before finally going under. Hitchcock put that moment in the film so he could gauge test audiences. When they laughed nervously as it stopped sinking and seemed relieved when it finally went under, Hitchcock knew audiences had made the switch to Norman as the guy to root for.
3. Psycho haunted Hitchcock for the rest of his career because with every succeeding film, he was judged – mostly unfairly – on whether that film haunted our dreams and invaded our psyches the way Pscyho did.
These facts were found after a little research I did, to find more about this movie, on this amazing site. If you like Psycho and want to know more, I highly recommend you to visit it.
Do you like it? What’s your favourite scene?

10 thoughts on “Psycho Movie

  1. Fiona says:

    I think I first saw this movie when I was about 12 and have been a huge Hitchcock fan my entire life. My favorite is probably “The Birds”, but “Psycho” is definitely up there. Also, if you’ve never seen his shows, “The Alfred Hitchcock Hour” or “Alfred Hitchcock Presents”, you should check them out! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • thebookishuniverse says:

      I haven’t seen them, but I’m currently started seeing all his films and that would be great to see these shows as well. Thank you for the recommendation!
      Really? Birds is your favourite? I did like it, but I can’t say I loved it, the end disappointed me, that’s all.
      Btw, I’m hosting a contest if you like to see and participate. Thank you for your comment! Xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ashley says:

    Psycho is one of my all-time favorite books. Last year around Halloween time, I seen that they were selling the movie and I had never seen the movie, so I bought it for $5. I love it just as much as the book. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

