Extremely loud and Incredibly Close Review

IMG_3192
EXTREMELY LOUD AND INCREDIBLY CLOSE BY J.S.FOER
STARS:
image

I first became acquainted with this book when I saw the movie adaptation and I knew from the very beginning that I had to own this book. I literally cried the whole time I was reading it and when I finally reached the end, I needed to read it all over again. It’s been over a month that I’ve read it, but the lines stay fresh in my mind. I remember every bit of this book. That’s why I included it on my Re-Read Challenge.
You should read it, because I’m sure that you haven’t read anything quite like this. It’s life-changing and so heartbreaking. I adore it. When I love a book as much as I love this one, it’s hard for me to describe what I loved most, but I can truly say this: It’s the best book that I’ve ever read (equal to P&P)!!

It’s a book about loss, hope, love and trauma. Ohh and redemption. It emphasises on the human nature and analyses different aspects of a character. A little boy, who tries to understand life as he searches for a key, that could help him stay close to his father is the basic idea of this novel, but the meaning of the book doesn’t end there. It’s much more complicated and fascinating at the same time.
Foer has a great ability to make each one of his characters stand out and in the end, you love every one of them for who they are, even for their faults, which they’re many.
First of all, the story is captivating and plot is amazing and well-structured. It’s leaves you breathless until the last minute, and not because of the mystery about the key, but because of the twists in the storyline.
The writing is great and keeps you alive until the very end. It’s a little different from what everyone is used to, but that doesn’t mean that it’s not good. In fact, I found it refreshing. This book is so well written. I really loved the fact that Oscar is not the only narrator in this story, a fact that made me love this story even more.
An incredible sense of humour in Foer ‘s writing, especially enjoyable through the thoughts and the youthful conclusion of a nine year old boy, which made me love this character so much. Oscar is my favourite character of all time and I really loved the way how he tried to redeem himself and get close to his father as possible as he could.

Please, if you haven’t read it yet, don’t hesitate even for a moment. Do get it now and start reading it. Are you still here?
What do you think? Do you like it?

36 thoughts on “Extremely loud and Incredibly Close Review

  1. Kath says:

    Cool review. I’ve read this book in 2012 and it became one of my all-time favorites. I love everything about this book. The movie adaptation is also great so I’am also recommending you to watch it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Felicia (asillygirl) says:

    I really liked this book! I’m planning a review of it soon, but I keep putting it off because it’s so difficult to figure out what to write about this book.
    I agree with pretty much everything you said. I really liked it a lot.

    – Love, Felicia

    Liked by 1 person

    • thebookishuniverse says:

      Hey Felicia. How are you?
      Don’t forget to send me a link when you do.
      Yeah I know that’s difficult to review it, because I love it so much. It took me two weeks to write it:o Hope you approve of it tho.
      Have a great day xx

      Like

  3. A. P. Bullard says:

    Reblogged this on Triskele Reviews and commented:
    Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close is the best book she has ever read. Have YOU read it? What do you think?
    I know one thing: This is a great review, and a lot of fun to read. Check it out, and be sure to follow her wonderful blog.

    Like

  4. aimalfarooq says:

    Great review. I don’t know why I haven’t picked this up yet. The author actually teaches at my university, so I should jump on the wagon like yesterday xD Haha!

    I really love your blog, so I hope you don’t mind that I nominated you for the Liebster Award. I really hope you decide to do it. If you want more details, here they are: https://aimalfarooq.wordpress.com/2015/02/08/liebster-award-nomination/

    Thanks. Have a fab day. ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Olivia says:

    Like you, I became aware of this book through the movie adaption. I loved the movie and it introduced me to one of my favourite things – oxymorons. Since then the book has been on my TBR list but I have yet to get around to it. I am glad to hear that it is such a fantastic read as well because it makes me look forward to reading it even more.

    Like

Leave a Reply

