A Darker Shade of Magic Review

wpid-81eos-mtaql.jpgA DARKER SHADE OF MAGIC BY V.E. SCHWAB
STARS:
image
Publication date: 24th February

Kell is one of the last Travelers—rare magicians who choose a parallel universe to visit. Grey London is dirty, boring, lacks magic, ruled by mad King George. Red London is where life and magic are revered, and the Maresh Dynasty presides over a flourishing empire. White London is ruled by whoever has murdered their way to the throne. People fight to control magic, and the magic fights back, draining the city to its very bones. Once there was Black London – but no one speaks of that now. Officially, Kell is the Red Traveler, personal ambassador and adopted Prince of Red London, carrying the monthly correspondences between royals of each London. Unofficially, Kell smuggles for those willing to pay for even a glimpse of a world they’ll never see. This dangerous hobby sets him up for accidental treason. Fleeing into Grey London, Kell runs afoul of Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations. She robs him, saves him from a dangerous enemy, then forces him to another world for her ‘proper adventure’.But perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, Kell and Lila will first need to stay alive — trickier than they hoped 

A Darker Shade of Magic is a fantasy edition of the Vicious, filled with kings and pirates. Or something like that at least. If you have read Vicious, then you should read this.
From the first 150 pages I read, I found the plot and the pacing of the story amazing. The characters are so well build and I really like every one of them. I liked Lila and the fact that the author decided to incude a gay character, really got me. That’s surprised me, positively of course, because I rarely see authors include them in their stories.What I loved above all, it’s Schwab’s writing, it’s so unique. She dragged me into her world immediately, even from the first page.
I wish I had the full book though, so I can give you a more detailed description of the book and my opinion about it, because those pages didn’t let me devour the book as much as I wanted.
Have you read Vicious? Are you excited?

21 thoughts on “A Darker Shade of Magic Review

  1. Cynthia says:

    Great review! I saw this preview available on NetGalley and was on the fence about requesting it or not. I have never read Vicious, but I have heard great things. I may check this one out. Thanks. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nirvana says:

    I WANT TO READ THIS SO BADLY :O I’ve been seeing it everywhere around the blogosphere…can’t wait to get to it.
    I like characters that stand out in stories, and something different, so this sounds amazing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Olivia says:

    I was not too excited for this book myself, but I have seen it being hyped up on the blogsphere and it makes me eager to read it… at least a bit curious. And it sounds like you loved it from the first page, having it drag you right into the world along with the plot and characters. It’s becoming one I could consider trying…

    Like

  4. Nyze says:

    You know what? The publisher mistakenly sent me the full ARC when I was just requesting for the preview. I’ve sent them an email confirming it and they told me that it was their sweet mistake. Haha! I so love the book too! I’ll be posting my review probably a week after the book has been published. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

