The Murder On The Links Review

image
MURDER ON THE LINKS BY AGATHA CHRISTIE | Goodreads
STARS:image

An urgent cry for help from Monsieur Renauld brings Poirot to France. But he arrives too late to save his client, whose brutally stabbed body lies face downwards in a shallow grave on a golf course. There’s a mystery behind the dead man’s past and one of the suspects is familiar to Poirot. But, when he’s sure that he solved the murderer, a new one happens…

To explain the plot, it would probably take me a century, but briefly here it is: It all begins when Hastings meets a young woman on a train. In short order Poirot receives a letter from a South American millionaire living in France stating that his life is in danger and pleading with Poirot to come at once. Hastings and Poirot immediately go to France, only to find that their “client” has been murdered. There is no shortage of suspects – wife, son, neighbors, vagrants, even the girl on the train shows up. The local police are not happy to have Poirot interfering but he insists on his using his superior “little grey cells” to ferret out the truth amid all the clues, red herrings, prevarications, and intrigues.

This is my first Agatha’s Christie novel and I have to say that I don’t know how I lived before. No wonder why she is called the Queen of Crime. I wish I could say more about the plot, but if I will then, I’ll give everything away and I don’t want to. Just trust me and read it, seriously. It’s so awesome, as all of her novels are.
Notes:
In this story, Captain Hastings is the narrator, a man who helps Poirot to solve some of his cases. He’s funny and incredibly naive, just like us readers. Hastings falls in love with a girl that may be one of the suspects and he has to made a decision sometime, whether to lie or not.
Poirot’s tales about his little grey cells is spiced up with a great humour as well, especially now that another detective, Poirot’s rival, has decided to take up the case.
It’s a fast-paced and in the first 30 pages we already have our first victim and Poirot is already working. In the end of each chapter, Poirot discovers a new clue, something very important to the murder and you, as a reader, you cannot simply put the book down.
The Queen of Crime manages to give us readers all the necessery details we need to solve the case and stil when you think you’ve seen it all, she twists the whole thing around in the very last minute and you found yourself open-mouthed, completely speechless.

My thoughts:
I devoured half of the story in one sitting, simply because I couldn’t put it down.  If you had seen my tweets, you probably know that already. I haven’t felt more intense in my whole life, maybe I’m exaggerating but honestly it’s the best book I have read in a while.
imageYes, that was my expression when the case was solved,I was so astonished and pissed off at the same time. You see, I was such a fool to think that the real murderer would be revealed twenty pages before the end and that I had found him as well. I had used all my grey cells and I had wrote down every single clue and detail, even every logical hypothesis I could make, but Agatha Christie turned my whole world upside down. But, what else could anyone expect from her?

Literally, go get it NOW. You’ll be hooked from the very first page.

18 thoughts on “The Murder On The Links Review

Leave a Reply

