Love Hurts Review

image
LOVE HURTS BY MALORIE BLACKMAN| Goodreads
STARS:image

Malorie Blackman brings together the best teen writers of today in a stunningly romantic collection about love against the odds. Featuring short stories and extracts about modern star-crossed lovers from stars such as Gayle Forman, Markus Zusak and Patrick Ness, and with a brand-new story from Malorie Blackman herself, Love Hurts looks at every kind of relationship, from first kiss to final heartbreak

Love Hurts is a combination of short stories written by various authors. When I first heard of this book, I got really excited, because I thought that it would be something like My True Love Gave Me. Unfortunately, it wasn’t. Only seven of the twenty four stories were original and the others were excerpts of already published books, approximately three pages each.
This book isn’t what I expected. I was sometimes confused with what was happening, because I couldn’t understand the background of the character’s past or the story itself. I haven’t read many of the books that were included and it was hard for me to grasp the plot. I chose to read this book for Valentine’s Day, because I wanted something romantic and I have to say that I was disappointed. I’m not saying that it’s bad, but it’s not great either.
I find it mediocre. The idea of making a book with romantic short stories is great, but I’d prefer if they were original and not taken from chapters of books. I wanted something to woo me and this one didn’t, I didn’t even felt the depth of love and that’s because the stories started very suddenly. In my opinion, it didn’t give any good to the books that were included either, you can’t judge a book from only one chapter. This book is for those who want to have a little glimpse of how some books are, like If I Stay or More than This. But, as I was saying, personally I wouldn’t recommend to read it for this reason.

In case, for those who wonder, THE BOOK CLUB is happening. Don’t forget to sign up here

12 thoughts on “Love Hurts Review

  1. thewritinghufflepuff says:

    I’m not going to read it then! I don’t see the point of buying it for only seven original stories. And like you said, you can’t judge the books on one chapter. What if that one chapter is the only good chapter in the book? Or what if it’s meh, and you miss out on the book? I’ll pass on this one!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. alison41 says:

    Great idea for a Book Club, but won’t be joining. Our South African postal service is slow and unreliable, plus overseas postage is too expensive for me. But a great idea, nonetheless. Good luck with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. gabby2126 says:

    I also thought that it would be like My True Love Gave To Me and was disappointed. I also really wished that they were all original stories since I did enjoy almost all of the original stories that were included as I recall.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

