Me and Mr Darcy Review

image
ME AND MR. DARCY BY ALEXANDRA POTTER| Goodreads
STARS: image

After a string of disastrous dates, Emily Albright decides she’s had it with modern-day love and would much rather curl up with Pride and Prejudice and spend her time with Mr. Darcy, the dashing, honorable, and passionate hero of Jane Austen’s classic. So when her best friend suggests a wild week of margaritas and men in Mexico with the girls, Emily abruptly flees to England on a guided tour of Jane Austen country instead. But that’s exactly what happens when she comes face-to-face with none other than Mr. Darcy himself. Suddenly, every woman’s fantasy becomes one woman’s reality. 

If you are a fan of Jane Austen or you like Pride and Prejudice, then do NOT read this. You’ll get angry, disappointed and you’ll certainly laugh at the things that happen in it -ironically of course. I absolutely hated this book and I regret the money I spend on buying it.
This post contains spoilers and I explain why I didn’t like it. This book is considered to be one of the most known fanfiction of Pride and Prejudice. Let’s see..
On the Jane Austen tour, Emily meets Spike, a journalist who wants to write an article about Mr Darcy and why women love him. Immediately, their relationship is catastrophic, but as the story keeps going, we see that nothing is what it seems. Emily’s actions are similar to those Elizabeth Bennet does from the beggining till the very end. The stories are parallel, almost like this one is a modern version of Pride and Prejudice, only that’s bad. She even reads excerpts from the book and the same time, those things happen in her life. So predictable and annoying!
Now, I need to talk about the characters and how much I disliked them. Starting from the protagonist to Mr Darcy himself.
Emily is a typical modern American, who works at a bookshop, but that doesn’t mean she’s a intellectual. I found her the silliest person ever written in the literature, she’s even dumper than Mrs Bennet and I hated her so much. She meets Spike, a journalist in her age and immediately she says to him “Listen, buddy, I couldn’t care less about you, your laptop or your stupid newspaper article”. Come on, seriously? I didn’t give much attention to that, but there’re other elements that she proves she’s ridicule and my reason for hating her is justified. First of all, she called Elizabeth freaking idiot and told Darcy that what he says is bullshit. Come on girl, have a little sense.
Secondly, Darcy is completely out of character, he does things that he wouldn’t normally do, no one really. First, he said that he felt a little lightheaded and he needs to sit down -Darcy would never use the term lightheaded. Later, he grabbed a handful of gravel from the path and he was about to check it up at Emily’s window. God, haven’t you laugh already? What annoyed me the most was the fact that when he proposed to her, he said “I do not want a woman like Ms Bingley, I desire someone feisty and opinionated, who can match me on my own game. I want you”

Do you want me to continue or are you fed up already? I only ask this: why would anyone want to read this?
But there’s more. When Emily comes to explain her experience and if she truly saw Mr Darcy, she managed to give two explanations. Either that she dreamt of him, or that everything happened for real. Eventually she believes the second one. How did this happen? Let me tell you..she thoroughly explains that Darcy doesn’t see Elizabeth until Easter, months after the last time, which means that he could meet anyone including her. But the thing that convinces her the most is that her tour guide is identical to Austen and how she looked like, even her name was an anagram of Austen’s.
Okay…

I dont want to see this book ever again!

2 thoughts on “Me and Mr Darcy Review

Leave a Reply

