The Death House Review

image
THE DEATH HOUSE BY SARAH PINBOROUGH | Goodreads | Amazon
STARS:image
I want to thank the publisher and Genn for sending me a proof of this lovely book.

Toby’s life was perfectly normal, until it was unravelled by something as simple as a blood test.Taken from his family, Toby now lives in the Death House: an out-of-time existence far from the modern world, where he, and the others who live there, are studied by Matron and her team of nurses. They’re looking for any sign of sickness. Any sign of their wards changing. Any sign that it’s time to take them to the sanatorium.No one returns from there.Withdrawn from his house-mates and living in his memories of the past, Toby spends his days fighting his fear. But then a new arrival in the house shatters the fragile peace, and everything changes.  Because everybody dies. It’s how you choose to live that counts.

Toby was taken because he was detected of the “defective” gene and he now lives in The Death House. He’s miserable, sleeps in day and wanders at night, waiting hopelessly for days to pass. Until one day, new kids arrive and everything changes. But for Toby everything changes when Clara arrives, a girl so full of life that it seems impossible that she should be among them. Nothing will be the same for Toby again, or anyone else. I wish I could tell you more, but I can’t. I know that some people hate spoilers and giving one more hint, it’ll ruin the whole story. I’ll only say this: it’s not what you expect.

Initial thoughts: image
1. Generally, the characters are very sympathetic and believable, even those you’re supposed to dislike, like Jake. But, for a strange reason I liked every single person for different reasons. Tony is practically the narrator of this story and the main character and even from the very first page, I loved him. I loved how he changed and became completed in the end. Such an amazing character development!
2. There is humour and lightness in some parts but there are also scenes of indescribable sadness. It’s been a long time since I felt so sad, but really satisfied with the ending. As it was natural, I cried in the end, how could I not?
3. I can’t say that it’s perfect. This leads to a lot of unanswered questions: how did this Defective gene came to be? What exactly is this Defective gene, and what does this mean for people with the Defective gene? Is it a dominant or recessive gene? Who is behind this Death House operation? What is up with the Matron and the nurses? But in spite of all these questions, I thought the psychology of The Death House was fascinating.
4. The Death House is a beautiful and well-written  story. I devoured it in a day, simply because I couldn’t put it down. My mind was always there and I was so curious to find what was going to happen next. I was so sad when It finished, because I wanted to read more, much more. To understand how desperate I was, I tweeted the amazing author, telling her to make a sequel,because I loved it. Here’s her answer:image
Let’s hope that it won’t take  her long!

Guys, just read it. The Death House is bound to be one of the most talked about books for 2015. Trust me. Be sure to add this on your to read list!
This book is perfect for fans of Never Let Me Go.

Note: For limited time, you can read it free on Goodreads or buy the ebook only £1.99

20 thoughts on “The Death House Review

  1. Ana says:

    No, I don’t :S Under the stars I only see the blurb… Gosh I must be blind 😦

    Do you happen to have a direct link? This one has been on my tbr list for a while, I would love to get to it while I still can…

    Like

Leave a Reply

