New To Shelf

image

March hasn’t gone and I’ve already added too many books on my unread pile. I’m one of those persons that find it hard not to buy new books, whether I plan to read them soon or not. Here are the book I finally bought, hope you like them, so you can put them in your to-be-read list:

MOAB IS MY WASHBOT BY STEPHEN FRY| Goodreads
Stephen Fry’s memoir from the age of seven, when he was send to boarding school until tthe year as a freshman. He tell us about love affairs, suicide, misery and criminal conviction. Fry is a brilliantly idiosyncratic character who continues to attract controversy, empathy and real devotion.

THE HIPPOPOTAMUS BY STEPHEN FRY| Goodreads
So begins the tale of Ted Wallace, unaffectionately known as the Hippopotamus. Fired from his newspaper, Ted seeks a few months’ repose and free liquor at Swafford Hall, the country mansion of his old friend Michael Logan. This world of boozy dinners, hunting parties, and furtive liaisons has recently been turned on its head by miracles, healings, and phenomena beyond Ted’s comprehension. As the mysteries deepen, The Hippopotamus builds into “a deliciously wicked and amusing little fable”

THE COLLECTED WORKS OF A.J.FIKRY| Goodreads
A. J. Fikry’s life is not at all what he expected it to be. Even the books in his store have stopped holding pleasure for him.And then a mysterious package appears at the bookstore. It’s a small package, but large in weight. It’s that unexpected arrival that gives A. J. Fikry the opportunity to make his life over, the ability to see everything anew. As surprising as it is moving, The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry is an unforgettable tale of transformation and second chances, an irresistible affirmation of why we read, and why we love.

image

I’m such a huge fan of Fry and I wanted to buy these books for ages. Also, The Completed Works of A.J.Firky was one of the books I most wanted to buy last year, but never got the chance. I’ve heard great things about this book and when I saw that BD had the hardback half prize, I almost screamed. Lastly, I couldn’t hold my hands when I saw that the book of completed Sherlock Holmes stories was in half prize as well. I haven’t read any of Holmes stories yet, even though I should have.

Also, many publishers this month have send me books to review that will appear on the blog soon, haven’t read all of them yet but the ones I have, they’re great. I can’t believe my luck because I won several books, which I always wanted to buy. You can see them on the second pile.

What are the books you’ve bought so far? Have you heard any of them?

10 thoughts on “New To Shelf

  1. Shannon says:

    I have the same problem – I call it compulsive book buying. It’s a bad habit, but as my mother once said, it’s not as bad as some other addictive habits.

    The Hippopotamus by Fry looks super cute! I’m all about fables, so I’ll have to look it up.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

