The Liar’s Chair Review

image
THE LIAR’S CHAIR BY REBECCA WHITNEY | Goodreads | Amazon
STARS: image
Many thanks to the publisher and Sam for sending me a copy.

However, control, not love, fuels their relationship and David has no idea his wife indulges in drunken indiscretions. When Rachel kills a man in a hit and run, the meticulously maintained veneer over their life begins to crack. Destroying all evidence of the accident, David insists they continue as normal. Rachel though is racked with guilt and as her behaviour becomes increasingly self-destructive she not only inflames David’s darker side, but also uncovers her own long-suppressed memories of shame. Can Rachel confront her past and atone for her terrible crime? Not if her husband has anything to do with it . . .

Rachel is the narrator in this story and after a drunken night with her lover, she runs down a man and kills him. She doesn’t call the police and David, her husband helps her cover it up. After that, she discovers bit by bit that her husband is not what she thought to be and that he can become dangerous. Rachel finds herself trapped in a toxic marriage, that she cannot escape. In the same time, she tries to get over the accident and let go of her past, which haunts her until now.

When I read the summary, I assumed that the book would focus on the relationship between Rachel and David after the accident, but it’s not that simple. There are many twists and turns, which are hard to predict. I was hooked, even from the first five pages!
This book mostly focuses on the characters and their darkness. They’re all cold but absolutely realistic and fascinating people. We see Rachel do everything on her own, showing that she’s strong, even though that she doesn’t feel so. She does bad things, but in the end, we see her feeling guilty about them. The novel mostly focuses on her and her past, we see why she became so flawed and how her relationship with her husband is.
The writing style is great and the plot is gripping, there’s a rich use of language, vivid descriptions and many details. The pacing creates a tense narrative, making it hard to put down. It’s extremely well written and easy to follow. A great psychological thriller that you need to know what happens next.

Initial thoughts:
1. Rachel and David are easy to dislike but for an inexplicable reason, I didn’t hate them, when I was supposed to. I loved their dark side. For some reason, Rachel reminded me of Camille from Sharp Objects by Flynn, I think they have many things in common. Generally, I like flawed characters, because I think that they’re very interesting people. I definitely fancied both of them, but mostly David. Ohh no, don’t gasp, for a strange reason, I loved him, such a fascinating character.
2. The end was satisfying but somehow that wasn’t enough for me. I can see that the author intended to make it more realistic and I really appreciated it, some of you may love it but I found it flat. I expected something else, something more dark and that’s why I found it a little disappointing. It’s certainly not the author’s fault, but I personally expected something to blow me away!
3. The ending left me wanting to see more, leaving it open for a sequel. I’d love to see Rachel getting revenge. I’d definitely buy the second book, if the author decides to continue the story, but I have a feeling that she’s quite finished with Rachel.

It’s easy, disturbing read but at the same time enjoyable and  truly chilling. It’s a story that you don’t easily forget, highly recommended!

 

3 thoughts on “The Liar’s Chair Review

  1. A. P. Bullard says:

    I’ve had similar encounters with books – there *could* be something more, but there just isn’t. This was a great review, and I loved how you broke it down to show each aspect of the book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

