The Last Days of Disco Review

image
THE LAST DAYS OF DISCO BY DAVID ROSS
STARS:image

Thanks Karen for this book. I really appreciate it!

Early in the decade that taste forgot, Fat Franny Duncan is on top of the world. He is the undoubted King of the Ayrshire Mobile Disco scene, controlling and ruling the competition with an iron fist. From birthdays to barn dances, Franny is the man to call. He has even played ‘My Boy Lollipop’ at a funeral and got away with it. But the future is uncertain. A new partnership is coming and is threatening to destroy the big man’s Empire…Witty, energetic and entirely authentic, it’s also heartbreakingly honest, weaving tragedy together with comedy with uncanny and unsettling elegance.

This story is set in the ’80s, when mass unemployment was an issue and Margaret Thatcher was the prime minister, taking the country to war. We see a working class family living in Scotland. The story practically focuses on Bobby who has set up his disco to rival Fat Fanny (love the name!). The Last Days of Disco is a novel about family, music and the triumphs and defeats of the Cassidy family. A great debut!

There are many characters in this story, making it refreshing and interesting to get to know them. When Britain wants to possess Falkland Islands, Bobby’s brother is going south, joining the army. In the meantime, there’s a little bit of drama with the rivaling mobile disco of Fat Fanny and I have to say that I really liked him as a character. Also, I loved the Cassidy family, because of the bond they have. I really enjoyed their chaotic life and everything else involved.

Initial thoughts:
1. Even though I’m completely oblivious to the ’80s, this story drew me immediately. Also, the references of Thatcher sometimes made me laugh -I know that I shouldn’t, but it’s an ironic laugh and irony is always acceptable, take for example this one:

Gardner, journalist of Thames TV: “Prime Minister, how long do you wish to go on being Prime Minister?”

Mrs Thatcher, the Prime Minister: “Until Im bored of it.”

Gardner: “How long will that be?”

Thatcher: “Oh, I don’t get tired very easily”

2. This book also includes an excellent soundtrack, which I really enjoyed. It reminded me the kind of songs that my dad used to sing, when I was little.
3. There’s a lovely Scottish feel to the language. You can feel and taste the true authentic vibe of the ’80s. I was always fond of Scottish and that book really made me appreciate the language. Also, the writing is exceptionally good, making it more enjoyable.

If you grew up in the eighties, you’re going to love it. It’s warm and so authentic. An amazing retro story!

Leave a Reply

