My Favourite First Lines

image

It is a truth universally acknowledged that a single man in a possession of a good fortune must be in want of a wife. –Pride and Prejudice, Jane Austen

The monster showed up after midnight. As they do. –A Monster Calls, Patrick Ness

Late in the winter of my 17th year, my mother decided I was depressed, presumably because I rarely left the house, spend quite a lot of time in bed, read the same book over and over, ate infrequently and devoted quite a lot of my abundant free time to thinking about death –The Fault In Our Stars, John Green

It is a curious story I have to tell, one not easily absorbed and understood, so it is fortunate I have the words for the task. –Florence And Giles, John Harding

But sometimes the sounds -like the pain- faded and then there was only the haze. –Misery, Stephen King

The most important things are the hardest to say. –The Body, Stephen King

There are times in your life when something happens after which you’re never the same. –The Snow Kimono, Mark Henshaw

These lines are some of my favourite quotes and I didn’t choose them randomly, they are taken from my favourite books. Anyway, this is supposed to a tag, but I don’t know who should I tag and just because I really like this post, I tag everyone to do this. Don’t forget to mention me, so I can check them out, I’m so curious to see your favourite first lines.

23 thoughts on “My Favourite First Lines

  1. wolfandwords says:

    Pride and Prejudice! I’m definitely going to do this tag – but I fear I won’t have only one-liners to provide, as good standalone sentences are hard to find in my collection. Maybe I’ll tweak it a lil bit.
    Also, I’m now interested in “Monster Calls”. Maybe I’ll check it out later.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alyssa says:

    Ooh, these are an awesome collection of first lines. I think my favs are the Stephen King and Jane Austen ones. But I really love “The past is a foreign country” from Go-Between, and “In a hole there lived a hobbit”, and The Scorpio Races “Today is the first day of November, and so someone will die.”

    Like

  3. jilliansbooks says:

    I absolutely loved Pride and Prejudice’s first line! It’s one of my all-time favorites πŸ™‚ Cute post! I also like TFIOS’ first paragraph. There are some books that start their stories in the best way. It’s amazing how imaginative authors can get, even with just a sentence ❀

    Jillian @ Jillian’s Books

    Like

  4. Killian says:

    I love the opening lines to Pride And Prejudice and A Monster Calls too! I haven’t read the former yet but I will … eventually. Another opening line that I love is the opening to Fahrenheit 451: “It was a pleasure to burn.” If you haven’t read that book I’d highly recommend it. It’s one of the best dystopians I’ve ever read and was depressingly accurate in some of its predictions of the future (if a little exaggerated). Great list!

    Like

  5. Thuong Le says:

    Great post and love the opening lines you’ve included! I recently got obsessed with opening lines because of Stephen King. Might have to do this tag at some point πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. radiantreads says:

    I love your selection! The first line from “The Body” is amazing! Makes me want to pick up the book immediately! πŸ™‚

    I nominated you for the Creative Blogger Award by the way.. πŸ™‚ But no pressure – if you don’t want to do it you don’t have to. πŸ™‚

    Like

    • thebookishuniverse says:

      Ohh this first line is amazing! You should read the whole paragraph too, it gets me everytime, one of my fav paragraphs ever! Brilliant book btw!
      Ohh thanks, going to check it out. I really want to do it, but I always forget to do tags.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. A. P. Bullard says:

    I clicked “POST COMMENT” too soon. The first line of Pride & Prejudice is one of my favorite first lines, too. It’s timeless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

