Disclaimer Review

image
DISCLAIMER BY RENEE KNIGHT | Goodreads | Amazon
STARS:image
I want to thank the publisher and Becky for letting me take part in the blog tour.

What if you realized the book you were reading was all about you? When an intriguing novel appears on Catherine’s bedside table, she curls up in bed and begins to read. But as she turns the pages she is sickened to realize the story will reveal her darkest secret.

Catherine finds a book on her beside table, so she decides to read it, when she discovers that the main character is her. Someone is writing about her and the worst part is that it reveals a secret that she tried so hard to hide. This book becomes an obsession and Catherine is desperate to find the mysterious author. She has to be quick before her family finds out what she really is…

I can see why some people compare this book with Gone Girl and The Girl on The Train, that’s why because they all have a strong female protagonist, but frankly, they’re not alike at all.
The story is so well written; Catherine’s life and her attempts to discover the truth behind the book are described in the third person, while the mysterious author reveals his own story in the first person. I found very clever the fact that the author decided to tell the story from both perspectives, only because as I reader I felt totally gripped. We get to see how two people, who are linked because of the past, feel and think and how they handle situations.
I was hooked from the beginning and the end blew me away!

Initial thoughts:
1. It’s described as “twistier than a corkscrew”. I totallt agree. I never expected what was coming. I was so surprised when the truth was revealed and it was so shocking that I couldn’t believe it.
2. I absolutely loved every character and especially Catherine. She’s a strong woman, who tries to hide her secret, only to protect herself and the ones she loves. For me, the characters are likable, all of them. Some may not agree with me, but I think that they’re realistic and that’s the reason why I like them so much. My favorite is Catherine and Stephen, because they’re both strong -even when they don’t feel that way- and they try to embrace a past that connects them. I was so suprised how he handled the truth, when Catherine told him what really happened. For me, that was the best part!
3. The strength of this book is in the plot itself, but I can’t say that I didn’t like the character develpoment, because there’s amazing, one of the best I’ve ever read. But, I think that  what impressed me most of is its originality. Stunning debut!

I definetely recommend you to grab this book, you won’t regret it. It’s a book full of sentiments, like hate, anger, revenge and desperation. It’s nothing of what I’ve read before and that makes it special for me! Totally a page-turner!

image

11 thoughts on “Disclaimer Review

Leave a Reply

