The Confectioner’s Tale Review

imageTHE CONFECTIONER’S TALE BY LAURA MADEILEINE
Goodreads | Amazon
STARS: image
Thank you Naomi and Transword for allowing me to take part in the blog tour.

What secrets are hiding in the heart of Paris?At the famous Patisserie Clermont in Paris, 1909, a chance encounter with the owner’s daughter has given one young man a glimpse into a life he never knew existed: of sweet cream and melted chocolate, golden caramel and powdered sugar, of pastry light as air.But it is not just the art of confectionery that holds him captive, and soon a forbidden love affair begins.Almost eighty years later, an academic discovers a hidden photograph of her grandfather as a young man with two people she has never seen before. Scrawled on the back of the picture are the words ‘Forgive me’. Unable to resist the mystery behind it, she begins to unravel the story of two star-crossed lovers and one irrevocable betrayal.

The story begins when Petra discovers a photograph of her beloved grandfather, proving that he had a secret past. Determined to find out the truth and hide it from her professor, who wants to make her grandfather’s biography, she turns everything upside down to solve the mystery behind the words “Forgive me”, which were written on the back of the picture.
The story is told in two different times. It’s 1910 and we see a young man who falls in love with the daughter of the famous Clermont, who owns a patisserie. But, things won’t turn out the way the two lovebirds imagined it. Eighty years later, we follow Petra, who is unable to resist the mystery and finds out about the betrayal.

The synopsis was enough for me to like it, and truth to be told, they were many things in its favour, even before I started reading it. First, it’s about Paris and romance, secondly there is food involved and lastly, the plot reminded me of Possession by Byatt, which is one of my favourite books.

Madeileine paints a picture of Paris and the  vivid descriptions make it easy to imagine the century. We read about the french culture and the delicious sweets and everything seems perfect. The author succeed to drew me in immediately and I really liked the fact that he plot is direct.

Initial thoughts:
1. For me, this book felt like a movie and I’d definitely recommend you to eat something sweet while you’re reading it.
2. The end was satisfying, it was exactly what I wanted to happen in this story and I have to say that I shed a tear or two. If you read it, you’ll understand why, the story is heartbreaking.
3. The characters are very likeable, even the ones that it’s meant to dislike, like Hall. My favourite is Gui of course!

If you want to get an early taste of Paris and The Confectioner’s Tale, there’s a recipe that you comes along with the book. You can find it here! It looks delicious!

I wish I could tell you more about it, but I think that If I do, I’ll spoil the story and I don’t want to. I definitely recommend you to read it, because reading it feels like a bar of chocolate that melts in your mouth. If you want to transfer yourself to Paris, then this book is perfect for you.

image

6 thoughts on “The Confectioner’s Tale Review

  1. fullybookedreviews says:

    I adore Paris – went there for the second time last year. And books that focus on food are always great – makes me think of Joanne Harris’ work. Lovely review – will keep my eye out for this one!

    Like

Leave a Reply

