The Little Paris Bookshop Review

image
image
THE LITTLE PARIS BOOKSHOP BY NINA GEORGE | Goodreads| BookDepository
STARS:
image
Thank you so much Poppy and Abacus for sending me this copy.

Monsieur Perdu calls himself a literary apothecary. From his floating bookstore in a barge on the Seine, he prescribes novels for the hardships of life. Using his intuitive feel for the exact book a reader needs, Perdu mends broken hearts and souls. The only person he can’t seem to heal through literature is himself; he’s still haunted by heartbreak after his great love disappeared. She left him with only a letter, which he has never opened. After Perdu is finally tempted to read the letter, he hauls anchor and departs on a mission to the south of France, hoping to make peace with his loss and discover the end of the story. Joined by a bestselling but blocked author and a lovelorn Italian chef, Perdu travels along the country’s rivers, dispensing his wisdom and his books, showing that the literary world can take the human soul on a journey to heal itself.
Internationally bestselling and filled with warmth and adventure, The Little Paris Bookshop is a love letter to books, meant for anyone who believes in the power of stories to shape people’s lives.

First, you’ll fall in love with this book because it successfully describes the power of books. Then, as you keep reading you’ll realize that this book is about grief and death and how to find your way back to life.
The characters are full of depth and every one of them has a story to tell” I found them very interesting and really charming; not to mention that I loved Perdu. But, what I liked most of all are the dialogues; sometimes they’re humorous and sometimes heartbreaking.

Initial thoughts:
1. It’s not so fast paced as I thought and some people may find it slow, but I think it’s perfect. It’s not a book to rush through, because you need to savour it. I absolutely loved it and it made me more passionate about life than I already am.
2. What I loved about it are the references to books and authors like Kafka and Wilde. This book talks about other books and those who are passionate about them, will really appreciate it.
3. Whilst reading it, I underlined all the quotes I liked. When I finally finished it, I realised that I had almost underlined the whole book. Some of them are:

I think I learned all my feelings from books. In them I loved and laughed and found out more than in my whole nonreading life

Often, it’s not we who shape words but the words we use that shape us.

4. At the end of the book, there’ re some recipes that I’m really curious to try out and also Perdu’s Emergency Literacy Pharmacy, described as “fast-acting medicines for minds and hearts affected by minor or moderate emotional turmoil”. I absolutely love everyone mentioned!

It’s a great read with beautiful imagery and lyrical writing. If you’re looking for a fast-paced plot, then this book isn’t for you, not all books are meant for everyone. But, you know some things are meant to be savored and this book is one of them. Highly recommended, you simply need to read it! To me, this story felt like a true one!

image

13 thoughts on “The Little Paris Bookshop Review

  1. joyousreads says:

    The first thing I did after reading your review is to check this out on Amazon. Boo. It’s not out till June 23rd? Sigh. Doesn’t matter, I’m so pre-ordering this book! Sounds lovely.

    Like

  2. Jumana says:

    Great review! I’m in love with Paris and I’ll definitely pick this one up :)♥
    Plus that coverr!! It’s gorgeousss

    PS, I’m a new follower of yours x

    Like

Leave a Reply

