No Place To Die Review

image
NO PLACE TO DIE BY CLARA DONOGHUE
STARS:image
Thanks Katie and publisher for sending this book.

Guilt for the past. Fear for the future.The body of a female university student is found buried in Elmstead Woods, South London. The circumstances of her death are as unprecedented as they are frightening.Two men admit to having had relationships with the girl just before she died.Both deny murder.Lewisham’s murder-squad detectives Jane Bennett and Mike Lockyer must untangle a web of deceit if they are to stop this monster before more innocent lives are lost.

This is the second book of the Mike Lockyer series, but don’t worry if you haven’t read the first one, because they’re different cases. To tell you the truth, I haven’t read it, but there are references and the author did an excellent job, so people -like me- who haven’t read it, understand what’s going on.
We see the story from the precpective of the police, which means that there are rich procedural details in the story. I haven’t read anything like it and I’m so glad that it proved to be so well written.
The descriptions are great, the story is well paced and the characters are likeable and realistic. There are twists and turns here and there, which some of them really impressed me.
The end was mind-blowing, I never expected that “motive” even though I almost realised who the killer was, but that’s because I’ve read many thrillers. Personally, I’d prefer if the ending was longer and more explained, because I think that it was too rushed.
Overall, it’s a really really good tale and one I would highly recommend to fans of Crime fiction and Thrillers.

2 thoughts on “No Place To Die Review

  1. kindlemom1 says:

    It has been awhile since I’ve read a book like this, I’ll have to keep it in mind for when I’m ready for another. Glad you liked this so well and weren’t lost not having read the first.

    Like

Leave a Reply

