The day I fell in love with writing

tumblr_npn5f2BBVg1u9o032o2_1280

Nobody has ever measured, not even poets, how much a heart can hold.

I don’t clearly remember when I first started to fall in love with writing, it would probably be in 2009, but the thing I clearly remember is that I always wrote from the age of ten; I used to write short stories, silly things that a child would write in such age.
I think that was the day when I cared about my feelings too much, when I got scared that I would get hurt. Writing always seemed easier than speaking. I felt more like myself when I had a piece of paper with me. I wished that my life would be easier and happier, so I didn’t feel the need to write, because that’s when I mostly write; when something is wrong.
I fell in love with writing because I knew that other hears are hurting and I found that I can stitch together these wounds with words. I fell in love with writing because I know I’m not alone. I guess I’m the only person I can trust and “talking” to me somehow heals a piece of something broken. That what writing does; it gathers all the broken pieces that I want to forget.

If you want to see the full post, go check it out on my personal blog here. I hope you like it.
What was the day you fell in love with writing? Do you remember it at all?

6 thoughts on “The day I fell in love with writing

  1. Panda says:

    I don’t remember at all. I think I was about 7 when’s I began writing stories in my own time (not at school) and needless to say, I fell in love as years went on. Initially it was just something I liked to do but by the age of 10, I was in love 😛

    Like

  2. Ana says:

    I think it was when I was 7/8. We had to write a story for our literature class, and mine won a prize because it was the best. I realized that I didn’t really care about winning, but about how good it felt to write my own story and share it with someone else.

    Like

  3. Lyka says:

    I was about 7 when I said to myself that I want to be a writer. I had this planner and since I was just an innocent little kid with no responsibilities, I filled the date-labeled pages with short stories that I would laugh at today and in the future. But that’s how it all began.

    Like

  4. saraletourneau says:

    You know, I don’t remember when I fell in love with writing, because I’ve been doing it for so long. I can remember sitting at the kitchen table when I was 7 or 8 years old, using lined paper and crayons to make up stories about talking animals, exotic places, etc. I’ve done all kinds of writing since then: journalism, poetry, blogging, and novel-writing. The last one is the one constant of them all; everything else, I’ve dabbled in it here and there over the years.

    I do remember when I realized writing was my true calling, though. I was working on the first draft of my WIP (a YA fantasy) 2 years ago, and suddenly it struck me how much joy and fulfillment I got out of novel-writing, no matter how challenging or frustrating it can be. That’s when I buckled down and started taking the process seriously. 🙂

    Like

  5. kindlemom1 says:

    I love this, thanks for sharing it with us! I wanted to be a writer when I was younger but it didn’t take me long to realize I just didn’t have a talent for it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

