The feeling of overhyped prereleases

tumblr_npdomi5HnH1u86w3ro1_500
I plan to write this post for ages and when I mean ages, it’s almost two months since this post was in the draft section and more than five when I first had this idea. Why I decided to finish it is because I want to express my frustration when it comes to overhyped prereleased books and see what everyone else thinks.
My reasons:
I usually learn about prereleased book is from booktube comminity or twitter; lot of people talk about how amazing this book is and they can’t wait to read it when it gets published and stuff, but honestly how do they know that they’re going to like it, just because they read the symmary? It doesn’t make sense to me.
Personally, there is so much pressure put on me that I have to like the book and eventually when I don’t like it so much as everybody else, I wonder what’s wrong with me instead of what’s wrong with the book. I feel that it’s an emotional blackmail and then you feel like you’re an outsider, someone that people will hate if you say that you are one of those who didn’t like it. Also, I think that prereleases take away all the fun of reading the book. From my latest experience, there was so much hyped about Red Queen and I was so eager to read it and when I finally did, I felt like I was spoiled when I wasn’t. I don’t know how if you understand what I mean, but somehow when the book is so hyped before it’s released, it’s usually a let down. The reason I’m saying this is not because I’m so critical but I think my biggest issue is that I expect the book to be perfect. I more likely going to find faults because I instictively desprove the fact that this book is amazing. It’s not that I want the book to be bad, I just don’t believe when people say “it’s a masterpiece”
I really don’t know what to say except that I lately try not to get involved in the bookish community as much as I did before. I have discovered that the buzz takes away the fun of reading..

22 thoughts on “The feeling of overhyped prereleases

  1. biancamontierro says:

    I kinda feel this post. ๐Ÿ™‚ But then again, it all comes down to the question of “Is it good or is it okay?” Some… can’t really help but overhype so I think it’s also our choice if we want to join in or not so that we can discover something else about “that” book ๐Ÿ™‚

    The buzz kills. Kidding ^.^

    Like

  2. kindlemom1 says:

    This si why I tend to avoid books with so much hype, more often than not I feel let down as well. Sometimes I buy into it though and love them too but honestly, anymore, it is rare for me. I think I expect too much as well, especially if I read it while everyone is talking about it. I have found that if I step back and wait awhile (maybe months of even a year) I will actually like the book, maybe more than I would have if I read it right away because my expectations for it are lower by then.
    I don’t know if that made sense, but either way, I want you to know that you aren’t alone. I think this happens to a lot of us more often than any of us care to admit out loud. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

    • thebookishuniverse says:

      I totally get you. I completely feel the same way and to tell you the truth, I’m doing the same thing. I think that my expectations are too high and I try to find faults more than I’d have in another book, which is unfair if we think about it.
      Thanks for your lovely comment xoxo

      Liked by 1 person

  3. tracyshephard says:

    Great post. I too feel this way. I have read recently some of the reviews for a debut author and they all have 5*. Only one has been honest enough to give it a 2. I feel that ‘some’ reviews are given just purely because the reviewer is a ‘friend’ of the author and doesn’t want to be seen in a bad light by being honest enough to say ‘this isn’t a great read’

    I think it takes away the point of reviews, and misleads readers into buying a book that is not what they say it is.

    I would rather be honest in my reviews than follow the crowd of sycophants.

    Liked by 1 person

    • thebookishuniverse says:

      Yeah, I know what you mean and you’re definetely right. Just as you say, they want to mislead the reader and when I want to buy a book I always do something and I strongly advise you to do the same:)
      I go to goodreads and I read the 2 or 3 stars reviews that don’t contain spoilers and see why people didn’t like it. This way, you have a clearer opinion about the book and then if I see that I’d like it, I buy it. Try it one time, it’s helped me a lot.
      Thanks for visiting xox

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Alyssa says:

    Oh. OHHH. I’m the exact opposite. I literally read the premise and scream, “I MUST HAVE THIS BOOK.” Or I will flail over the gorgeous cover. I am all the excited over to-be-released books. Still, I don’t actually nab the book (or plan to) until I read reviews. It’s actually a very, very rare day when ARC reviews alone persuade me to pre-order a book.

    But then I also get what you mean about overhyped books not being that good. For example, I was SO EXCITED for The Wrath and the Dawn, and then I read it, and … nada. No spark. It was good but not that good? So I felt slightly more let down than if I hadn’t hyped myself up over the book, I think. BUT THEN SOMETIMES MY SELF-HYPE IS RIGHT, like for A Darker Shade of Magic.

    I think it really comes down to personal preference, whether you like to be excited before you even turn the first page, or if you reserve judgement until you finish the entire book. And I don’t think there’s any need to be guilty and/or ashamed if you didn’t like an overhyped book — I gave ACOTAR like 2 stars even though I was super looking forward to my first SJM read, and everyone else I knew (save a couple) were raving over it.

    Like

    • thebookishuniverse says:

      I totally understand what you mean. Personally, I get very excited too but then I realize the book is not what I expected to be and I’m really disappointed and have come to the conclusion that my judgement changes a little bit.
      Anyway, you seem like you have a fun reading, girl;) xx

      Liked by 1 person

  5. bookstogetlostin says:

    If it’s a completely new book I am usually not really hyped about its release. This may change if it’s part of a series I love (what will happen next?!) or if it’s by one of my favourite authors (there is a reason why I love them so the next book should be a good one too).

    Really, really hyped books… I don’t know. Most of the time I buy them way after their release date and in an used condition. If at all.

    Like

  6. Myrthe says:

    So many books are overhyped now because of social media. Honestly, I started and stopped caring about that fairly quickly. Even by just reading the synopsis I could tell that half the books everyone kept talking about just wouldn’t be for me.

    The only time I’m really excited about a new release is when it’s a sequel in a series that I’ve read and loved, otherwise I’ll just wait and see. There’s plenty of books where I really, really don’t understand the hype.

    I don’t mind being seen as the odd one out; I’m just gonna read the put and give my honest opinion about it. I won a book on Goodreads a while back, which sounded very interesting, everyone so far (friends of the author?) had given it 5 stars, I gave it 1 (because you can’t go lower). There was just absolutely nothing even remotely good about the book and the synopsis didn’t even match what the book was about…

    Some books just aren’t as good as others make them out to be, and it’s ok to think that

    Like

  7. HOLLY says:

    I agree- sometimes it can be really annoying. And it takes away the joy of the discovery of a great book, because everyone reads them as soon as they are released and then they give their opinion of it immediately. While I do love the online bookish community, the hype monster is definitely one aspect of it that I could live without.

    Like

  8. grassandsun says:

    I feel the same. I started to buy books without checking reviews or goodread. Now when I open a book I don’t know what to expect of it and I don’t feel the pressure to like it

    Like

  9. theorangutanlibrarian says:

    I completely agree with this! I’ve read so many books that are overhyped that felt like a huge letdown and it often leaves me wondering if I’d have disliked it as much if everyone hadn’t told me how brilliant it was first.

    Like

  10. Josephine says:

    I know exactly what you mean. When prereleases are hyped up so much, it really kills the buzz, can generate spoilers and can lead to many people rating the book down from what they would have been without the hype! xoxo

    Like

  11. Cynthia @ Bingeing On Books says:

    I get exactly what you are saying. There are so many new releases that I am excited for. And then I have to decide whether to spend my money on the prodder due to the hype. Hard decisions for sure! Honestly, I wait for some trusted bloggers or other reviewers to be my guinea pig of sorts and wait for their opinion. I was very excited about Red Queen, but then so many bloggers kept saying it was just okay or it was a copycat of other dystopian novels. I may get to it soon, but that took away some of the excitement for mt.

    Like

    • thebookishuniverse says:

      Another thing you can do is go to goodreads and read the 2 or 3 stars reviews and see why people didn’t like the book so much. Be careful not to read the spoilers! I always do that before I want to buy a book!
      Hope I helped x

      Like

  12. Alina @ Radiant Reads says:

    Oh my god I wanted to make a post just like this for some time now! Overhyped books and the pressure that comes with them is something I really need to vent about for a bit… It’s twisted that when you don’t like one of the hyped books everyone loves you immediately think you didn’t get it or you’re doing something wrong here when you should be thinking about – like you said – what’s wrong with the book… -.-‘

    By the way – I nominated you for the Blogger Recognition Award. If you want to, please check it out: https://radiantreads.wordpress.com/2015/07/27/the-blogger-recognition-award/

    Like

  13. Kimberly @ Come Hither Books says:

    I find the early release info helpful to know which books are going to be in demand right at release, but it also makes me less likely to read it myself. I add things to my to-read list way in advance to keep track of them. But the overhyped books mean absolutely nothing to me until I start seeing real, critical reviews. Especially with existing authors, like the Maas faery book that just came out, the hype doesn’t tell me if it’s good, just that they have a fan base.

    Like

Leave a Reply

