The Dreaded Reading Slump

tumblr_o5n2roxsFc1vnnzjso1_1280

I hadn’t read anything for two months and it was sad. I did have excuses though:
1. Finals were approaching
2. Lazy
3. My TBR didn’t look inviting

I wanted to read, but you know, I couldn’t find any books to read. I decided it’s time to read Station Eleven; it was good, I liked the first two chapters and the premise was amazing, but then it died. I don’t know what happened, I was in page 50-something and all of a sudden I wasn’t interested in this anymore. I tried to find something else and I picked up Glass Sword, but again I didn’t care about these people at all.

I had given up on book reviews so long ago that even now I can’t remember when it was the last time I wrote one. I had also stopped writing on my blog and didn’t watch booktube videos anymore. The passion for reading had abandoned me.

Until..a few days ago. I finished the last episode of Reign, I didn’t know what to do and I thought that I should try reading something and see how it goes. And it worked. I picked up Stolen Songbird by Danielle L. Jensen and before I knew it I was on page 100-something. I loved it and reminded me why I fell in love with books in the first place. I honestly couldn’t put it down, I had to find out the ending. I stayed awake until 6am just to finish it and reading 471 pages in one sitting felt like reading a novella.
Since then, I read every day. I watch booktube videos every now and then and I even decided to start this blog.

So, for those who have the same problem -I’m now addressing to you- don’t feel guilty or stressed about losing your passion for books, it’ll come back eventually.  Pick a book you loved before or you know that you’re going to like and start slowly. Everything will be as they were before.

4 thoughts on “The Dreaded Reading Slump

  1. Thuong Le says:

    Glad you overcame your reading slump and you’re back on blogging 🙂 missed your book reviews! I don’t remember the last time I had a reading slump but I do remember taking a break from reading because I wasn’t in the mood for it, as reading Mistborn had actually drained me lol. x

    Like

    • mebookaholic says:

      Mistborn is a loooong book and I was afraid to start it, because I didn’t know if I’ll finish it.
      I’m so glad to be back, missed the book community. You’re so sweet thank you xx

      Like

Leave a Reply

