The Selection: Chapter 1

selection
Reading and Reviewing The Selection chapter by chapter.

Let’s do this.

Note: direct quotes will either be bolded or put in block quotes.


35 young ladies fighting for the affections of a prince. Cliche, yes but I think it could be really good, well basically that depends on how the story will turn out. Yes, of course I expect America to end up with the prince, but I decided to read it anyway. It’s The Bachelor meets The Hunger Games, how awful can it be?

What’s the name of our protagonist? America. Yes, like the country.
And she sings. Guess what’s her last name is. Singer.

FIRST PARAGRAPH:

WHEN WE GOT THE LETTER in the post, my mother was ecstatic. She had already decided that all our problems were solved, gone forever. The big hitch in her brilliant plan was me. I didn’t think I was a particularly disobedient daughter, but this was where I drew the line.I didn’t want to be royalty. And I didn’t want to be a One. I didn’t even want to try.

Οkay. Let’s keep that in mind and see how strong her resistance would actually be. Because, I honestly couldn’t think of anything worse than to wear expensive gowns, play pretty and be treated as a princess.

But, before I judge her, let see her reasons:

beyond the potential danger… you’re going to be a princess and you’re going to have many guards to keep you safe.
hurt my heart to even consider… again, it’s so painful to be treated as a royal.
things in this world that I loved… did anyone tell you to stop loving them? Hypothetically, you’re going to do whatever you want.

AM I THE ONLY SEEING THAT HER REASONS ARE RIDICULOUS?
Then, we get to read the letter that invites any woman between sixteen (isn’t that a little bit young?) and twenty to meet and marry the prince. But, princes aren’t supposed to be married to princesses in order to make alliances and expand their lands? Even in fairytales, Prince Charming’s father wanted him to marry a royal and not a commoner. Well, it seems that the fairytale has more realism that this dystopian novel.

Reason given:

I think the Selection was meant to draw us together and remind everyone that Illéa itself was born out of next to nothing.


Sigh.

That’s ridiculous.
Who want’s to have a powerful nation? No one!

But, we’re told that any time the royal family has a daughter, they are sold off into marriage in an attempt to solidify their young relations with other countries.
Well, if so, then the same shouldn’t happen for the prince as well? I mean the males are the ones who have power and any ambitious king would try to marry off his male son to a beautiful  princess-not necessarily beautiful but I’m just saying- to make his kingdom powerful. But, apparently no.

Half a page later, the family debates if America is pretty, like if anyone cares.

Blah, blah, blah, more talk about how America Really Is Pretty, No Really.

Blah, blah, blah, more talk from America about how since she thinks she can’t win, there’s no point in entering at all.

“If I’m so lovely, how come no one ever comes by to ask me out?”


Hold on – I need a moment to recover.
Okay.

Let’s start a list of America’s characteristics:

  • stubborn
  • annoying

We’re doing great so far. I think that this book is going to waste my time – I can feel it.
The aim of the first chapter is to present the characteristics of our protagonists and make us like her, so it’ll be easier to connect with her. So far, Cass failed. We only get to see America’s stubbornness and  her ridiculous reasons why she doesn’t want to enter the competitions.  Not to mention that we aren’t introduced to this world at all. I find the writing to be poor and the chapters are short.

13 thoughts on “The Selection: Chapter 1

  1. Aria says:

    Oh goodness, this is going to be completely and utterly amusing to read along with you! 😂 I never liked The Selection series just from the look of it and it’s synopsis, but with everyone raving around it, I keep getting second thoughts.

    Like

  2. Yasimone says:

    Looking forward to the read-along of this novel! I actually read and reviewed it back in the days of its hype, and I was completely and totally underwhelmed. It was actually impressive how much it managed to frustrate me. 😂 Good luck! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

