July Recap | Fantasy, Nails and Writing

Hello everyone! I’m officially back and I’m so happy that I started blogging and reading again. I’ve been in a really bad reading slump for the longest time and it felt like forever.

βοοκσ ρεαδ

stolen songbird by danielle l. jensen  | 5 stars

I was lucky enough to be win this book on a giveaway that the author hosted or I’d never have discovered it, because it isn’t talked much in the booktube community and it’s unfair. I think it’s a great book and I’d definitely be reading the next one. I’m not saying it hasn’t its faults but they’re minor compared to everything else. I loved the world building and especially the trolls -something I haven’t read before- and the romance. It’s the book that helped me get out of my reading slump and I literally devoured it in a day. I didn’t stop reading until about 5 am and there is no need to tell you that I was a wreck the next morning, but I didn’t care because this book was totally worth it.


THE ORPHAN QUEEN BY JODI MEADOWS | 2 STARS

I was so excited for this book and I has so high hopes, because the magic system seemed complex and the world building wasn’t something I’d read before. Let me tell you that it was a complete disappointment, especially when it had the potential to be great. Overall, this book was irritating beyond my comprehension. It had so much potential to be so good and it failed. I’ll definitely not be reading the next book. I really liked the ending though , even though it was a cliffhanger but everything else doesn’t make sense. My review for this book is already up, if you want to read more.


THE INFERNAL DEVICES BY CASSANDRA CLARE

I haven’t read any of Clare’s books before and I’m so happy that the books reached my expectations. Everyone on the booktube community craved for this series and I was desperate to read it. The world that Clare created was fantastic and even though I haven’t read any TMI but have some knowledge, I feel like I could jump right in. Loved the characters and connected with every one of them -yes I know they’re many- but still I liked each one for different reasons. Ohh and I’m definitely Team Jem!


aug

IF I COULD CALL THAT!

I don’t usually do tbr, just because I don’t like to plan what I read. I want it to be spontaneous and pick something that I’m in the mood to read and not somehow be forced to. But, lately I’m in love with fantasy genre and trilogies (or series in general), two things I wasn’t too excited before.
I’ve ordered the books from BD, but for my bad luck they’re taking ages to come when I need them asap. Whyyyy? I literally wake up earlier every morning just in case the postman comes, but it’s taking so long -longer than usual. You know the feeling when you expect a book to arrive and hold it in your arms, smell the pages, stare the cover for hours and put it in your bookshelf like it’s your most precious possession.


Χωρίς τίτλο
BOOKISH RELATED

  • The Shadow Hour was out on 12th and Atom Books made a nail art comp, so I couldn’t miss it. It took me about 1 hour to finish but I think it totally worth it. I spend the rest of the day admiring my work totally justified, I think.

Χωρίς τίτλο

  • I want to REALLY dedicate some time in book photography, because it’s one of my favorite things. AND I want to make my bookstagram  look freaking awesome, but I still haven’t decided on a style.
  • ARCs have started coming again and I couldn’t be more excited, but I NEED to organize my reading schedule, because I don’t want to be drawn in them and end up reading sth I don’t want to. It happened to me couple of months before and it sucks. I didn’t have the time to read books that I chose for myself.
  • I’m thinking of starting NaNoWriMo. I haven’t tried before and wanted to do it for some time but lately I want to start writing again and I heard that it’s the best way.
  • I also want to finish my short story on Wattpad. It’s called His Name was Eliot and I started so good but I lost my inspiration along the way and I really want to finish a story. I always start sth and never finish it.
  • I started a Selection read along, which I’m going to review chapter by chapter. It’ll be so much fun.
  • Lastly, the most exciting of all is that I changed my blog. I think it’s really pretty and I’m very satisfied with how it turned out, because it literally took me hours. I put some graphics and changed the logo and I also plan to change the way I make my reviews. Tell me if you like it!

daaffIf you’ve read any of these books, tell me if your thoughts. Could you also recommend  me a great fantasy series (except Throne of Glass and Mistborn)Do you prefer Six of Crows or The Raven Boys?
How do you find my ‘updated’ blog?
19 thoughts on “July Recap | Fantasy, Nails and Writing

  1. joyousreads says:

    Love the look of your blog! I’m typically a fan of minimalist designs because I feel like I can concentrate more on the blog content rather than all the bells and whistles that tend to distract me. So really love this look!

    As far as fantasy goes, I’d recommend Melina Marchetta’s The Lumatere Chronicles. It’s a finished series and she’s basically my literary goddess. I used to be a big fan of The Raven Boys but the last book was such a disappointment. Now, I think I prefer Six of Crows for sure.

    Happy reading!

    Like

    • thebookishuniverse says:

      You can’t imagine how happy you made me. It took me hours to finish and I’m glad that someone else finds it pretty;)

      OMG Really? I’d definitely should check it out then. Six of Crows is already on my tbr but I don’t know if I should start it before the series is complete because when I finish a series book and the other isn’t out yet it annoys me bc I want it NOW hahah

      Like

  2. Nerdybirdy @ Daydreaming Books says:

    Stolen Songbird has been in my tbr for sooo long, I really want to start reading that series this year! And yup, you heard it correct, NaNoWriMo is absolutely the best thing if you want to get back into writing, I participated in Camp this July and it couldn’t be anymore fun! I’m glad I got my groove back! 🙂 Oh and I don’t know how your blog looked before but I’m loving this current look!

    Like

    • thebookishuniverse says:

      Even though it has some flaws I gave it 5 stars bc I really enjoyed it. The ending omg I definitely need to continue with the series. Can’t wait to see your thoughts.
      I bet it’s fun! I just need to find some inspiration and then I’m ready haha Have you though of publishing your work on your blog? I’d really love to read sth of yours.
      Ohh thank you! I’m so glad you like it x

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Emma Snow says:

    I absolutely love the new look to your blog. It’s so beautiful aesthetic!

    It disappointing to hear that The Orphan Queen didn’t meet up to expectations. It looked so good. I’m so happy you loved TID! I adore those books more than I do TMI because of Will, Jem, and Tessa. I even love Sophie, Gideon, and Jessamine. Just everything about that serious is magical.

    I’ll have to check out your story on Wattpad. I have a profile and write as well. I’m just finishing up a short story about zombies! It’s called Walking Dead. I also just added you on Instagram because your profile is so pretty! I wish I had the same artistic eye as you! ❤

    Like

    • thebookishuniverse says:

      Ohh thank you so much! You just made my day ❤
      Loved TID and I need to start TMI but the number of books intimidate me a little. hahah
      Cant wait to hear your thoughts. What's your name on Wattpad? I'd love to read your story. I just started reading the stories you have on your blog but you haven't updated for a while. Really like your writing style;) xx

      Like

  4. Thuong Le says:

    Yay, so glad you liked the Infernal Devices trilogy! Its definitely one of my favourites. Haha I’m Team Will but I do like Jem! I really like your new banner for your blog! Looks so pretty and the deer in your mini-bio is adorable ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Candid Cover says:

    I really need to read The Orphan Queen! I am loving your nail art. I wish that I was talented enough to do that sort of thing because I have seen so many awesome designs out there. Instagram and I have a love/hate relationship! I find that it sucks away so much of my time, yet I can’t create a post that I really love. Good luck with yours! With your creative skills, I am sure you’ll be amazing! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. sophiethestark says:

    I hope you love The Winner’s Curse! It’s one of my favorites ❤ I can't say anything about the others as I haven't read them yet, but they do have a place in my TBR somewhere.
    Great recap 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

