CHILDREN OF ICARUS: HAD THE POTENTIAL TO BE GREAT

gsgs

THIS IS A SPOILER FREE REVIEW!


CnLSg23VIAAwaU5.jpg largeIt is Clara who is desperate to enter the labyrinth and it is Clara who is bright, strong, and fearless enough to take on any challenge.
It is no surprise when she is chosen.
But so is the girl who has always lived in her shadow.
Together they enter.
Within minutes, they are torn apart forever.
Now the girl who has never left the city walls must fight to survive in a living nightmare, where one false turn with who to trust means a certain dead end.

GOODREADS | AMAZON | THE BOOK DEPOSITORY


I have mixed feelings about this book and still now I haven’t decided if I loved it or not.I’m basically like:

Me: The plot was amazing!
Brain: But the main character was boring. She didn’t even have a name.
Me: Yes, but the ending was against all expectations and assumptions.
Brain: …
Me: RIGHT?
Brain: Okay, this book totally redeemed itself.

So, let’s make a list.

γδγ

THE PREMISE

The story is set on a mythical town, where every year children are chosen to enter a maze that surrounds the city. They are promised to be protected by angels and those who survive will have the chance to ascend to paradise. But, what they’re promised are lies. You could say that it’s 85% The Maze Runner and 10% mythology and 5% The Hunger Games, but Children of Icarus is totally its own story . I loved the setting and survival stories are my favorites, not to mention that the maze was one of the things I really liked. It’s dark and mysterious and terrifying.

 THE TWISTS AND TURNS

I can’t say that the pace is consistent; in the beginning it was extremely fast and before I realized it, I was already in the middle of the book and then things went a little slow, but I never lost my interest. Maybe that explains the fact that this book was so damn unpredictable! When things went steady, BUMP something happened and changed everything, EVERY SINGLE TIME!

THE CHARACTERS

(Exception made of the main protagonist, I will explain later) They’re all totally nuts! Some of them tend to become psychopaths and to be honest I liked it (no, don’t get me wrong I’m not a psychopath). I don’t usually find so troubled characters in YA books and I was positively surprised here. Their life in the maze changed them in a bad way, which seemed realistic to me since most of them they were there more than two years.

the ending

aHHHHHHH OKAY. CLIFFHANGER GOT ME.

ζψ
THE MAIN CHARACTER

Most of the time she was mute and scared and she was absolutely useless to the team. She annoyed me most of the times and she has no personality. At first, I find it very realistic to be so intimidated and terrified as the maze was new to her, but later I felt like she didn’t do anything and the plot happened to her instead of the other way around. The only time we see her do anything is the last scenes, when she was practically forced to. She didn’t even have a name. No, literally. We don’t get to know her name, even though it’s told from first perspective!

NEEDED MORE

The world building lacked depth. The setting is incredible and the myth it’s based on is really good, but we never get to learn more about it. There are so many questions unanswered and for me this book should be the second of a series or at least longer. I needed to learn more of the laws, the people and the city and the protagonists ( her name of course), her relationship with Clara and most importantly how this city was build.

13839906_1075148452569744_1168209061_o

 

OVERALL, I really liked this book,  I’d definitely read the next book and I want it NOW. I cannot overlook the fact that I hated the main character  but despite its flaws I enjoyed Children of Icarus so, so much.  Just because the mc is dull doesn’t mean that the book isn’t interesting.

STARS:  image


I was kindly provided with a review copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. Thank you so much to the publisher Curious Fox for allowing me this opportunity. These circumstances have, in no way, affected my review.

12 thoughts on “CHILDREN OF ICARUS: HAD THE POTENTIAL TO BE GREAT

  1. Candid Cover says:

    I have never heard of this book before and I am very intrigued! The plot sounds pretty exciting and you are right, it does sound a bit like The Hunger Games to me as well. That makes me want to read it even more and I am glad that the MC redeemed herself for you! That is an important part of my enjoyment of any novel!

    Like

  2. Georgiana Darcy says:

    This book sounds very interesting! I haven’t heard about it yet but I’m sure I soon will. When is the publishing date it?

    Like

  3. heylu says:

    I have to say I completely agree with your review! Everything was so interesting and held so much potential, and then the main character and confusing world building just slogged everything down a bit. Really hope the next book is as exciting as the last third of this one was and we actually get to see the narrator become someone and kick butt!

    Like

    • thebookishuniverse says:

      Yes I completely agree with everything. I also saw your spoiler vlog and I feel the same way.
      I hope that some of the questions will be answered in the next book and the mc will take more action. I’m curious to see what happened at the Fates

      Like

  4. Aldii says:

    Honestly I didn’t read your review just because I don’t like to read reviews before I read the book. I was scared I would see a 2/5 stars rating or something like that, but a 4/5 wasn’t bad. I have a copy of this too and I hope I can read it soon!!

    Like

  5. Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity says:

    WOW, okay. So I think WordPress just ate my comment. I don’t remember everything I said >.<

    Anyway, it sounds like this book, even though it had similar themes and premise to other YA novels, took them and made them into a new and unique storyline.

    It seems like there are a few books where the main character doesn't have a name, and I always think of Rebecca by Daphne du Maurier, because that was the first book I read where the main character didn’t have a name. I didn’t even realise it until I was talking to someone about the book, and didn’t have a name to call her, haha.

    It’s good that you ended up enjoying this overall, and I hope there’s a sequel for you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

