The Selection: Chapter 4

selection

We can’t have a dystopian novel if there isn’t war in it. But apparently, pretty dresses and balls are more important than keeping your country safe.

I hated war.

Unfortunately, we were a young country that had to protect itself against everyone. It wasn’t likely this land would survive another invasion.

And instead of reading about survival, we focus on balls and romance.

IT’S FINALLY TIME! 4 CHAPTERS AND 2 BORING HOURS READING…

I looked closely at Maxon. I guess he was handsome in his own way. Not at all like Aspen, though. His hair was a honey color, and his eyes were brown. He kind of looked like summertime, which I guess was attractive to some people. His hair was cropped short and neatly done, and his gray suit was perfectly fitted to him.

This is the first time we get to learn how the prince is like and of course we’d have all the cliches we could think of: he is really dashing but our protagonists finds him uptight and boring. Another cliche: she’s destined to hate him and she obviously prefers her boyfriend over him.

I almost felt bad for the girl who ended up with him. That would probably be the most boring life imaginable.

Guess who will that be? You! And I wish you to die of boredom. I don’t think I’ve hated another YA female protagonist before. She’s pathetic and I can’t stand her.

The prince says he hasn’t given much thought to the Selection because, you know, fucking war!  That takes up all his time and cognitive powers.

Mom and May laughed. I suppose it was kind of funny.

…You’re a moron.  What part of “I’m focusing on fighting a war for my country’s very survival and don’t have time for anything else because it’s a war is supposed to be funny?

When Prince Maxon is asked how he’d like his ideal girl to look like, he answers:

“Honestly, I don’t know. I think that’s the beauty of the Selection. No two women who enter will be exactly the same—not in looks or preferences or disposition. And through the process of meeting them and talking to them, I’m hoping to discover what I want, to find it along the way.” Maxon smiled.

I found his reply very honest and realistic -probably the most realistic thing I’ve read so far and I’m surprised. After reading all these I didn’t expect to find anything I’d like, but I’m pretty sure that I won’t last for long. Cass will ruin it.

Another short chapter with no particular interest. This book doesn’t care about such measly things as realism and tension and character growth. Not to mention the world building. Everything annoys me beyond my comprehension.

2 thoughts on “The Selection: Chapter 4

Leave a Reply

